Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Kelpe "Ex-Aquarium"

Artist: Kelpe
Album: Ex-Aquarium
Label: D.C. Recordings
Release date: 25 February 2008
Genre: Electronic
Style: Downtempo/Ambient Techno/Experimental
RIYL: Boards Of Canada, Plaid, Lusine

01. Under
02. Whirlwound
03. Shipwreck Glue
04. Pinch And Flare
05. Stop Parching Yourself
06. Yippee Space Ghost (Sid Version)
07. Sunken Centre
08. Skylla
09. Bread Machine Bred
10. Silver Nutkin
11. Half Broken Harp
12. Colours Don't Leak
13. Cut It Upwards
14. Over
Total running time: 58' 56"

[Kelpe - Open MySpace Standalone Music Player]

"It has been a lengthy hiatus since Kelpe's last offerings: 2005's "Sunburnt Eyelids" (DCR63) and 2004's acclaimed "Sea Inside Body" album (DC53) which preceded it (described by The Wire Magazine as "One of the most engrossing listens in recent electronic music").

On hearing "Ex-Aquarium" it becomes clear what he has been doing in this time. Countless live performances all over the world as well as numerous explorations into the sonic potential of table tennis have clearly drawn him towards increased instrumentation with Mckeown himself getting behind the drum kit to beat out the rhythm as his new wave of sonic mutations emerge triumphantly from the whitewater.

"Shipwreck Glue" oozes and gripes like a writhing leviathan amidst a din of cowbells and ping pong staccatos. "Whirlwound" swaggers and swells like a rhythmic ocean overture; "Bread Machine Bred" sounds like a whirring automaton making strange maneuvers in the deep. Previous comparisons to the likes of Fourtet, Dabrye, Boards Of Canada will be left in the wake of this sterling new material." [source]


No comments: